Flipping/Inspection? - Posted by Tamika

Posted by Matt B on March 28, 1999 at 09:46:15:

Do yourself a HUGE favor and buy Ron LeGrand’s Quick Turn course from this website. It will answer all your questions and tell you how to get going.

Good luck and don’t be afraid to post here to ask for help.

Flipping/Inspection? - Posted by Tamika

Posted by Tamika on March 28, 1999 at 07:36:50:

When doing flips, how do you determine what work needs to be completed on the property and the cost of the work that needs to be done? I’m a newbie and have no idea how to assess repairs.

I’d be comfortable getting a minimum of $1500-$3,000 from deals. I understand that rehab investors, generally, want to make a minimum of $10,000, is that correct?

Do I get an inspection, at a cost of about $180, to determine what problems exist with the property? Do I use a contractor or an inspector to give me an estimate of repairs? Or do I tie the property up with a contract (of course, using an escape clause), and then take my perspective buyer over to estimate what the repairs might be?

Any help with this would be greatly appreciated, I’ve located a couple of inexpensive properties and would like to go look at them within the next day or two.

Tamika

Estimating Repairs - Posted by Baltimore BirdDog

Posted by Baltimore BirdDog on March 30, 1999 at 16:43:15:

Dear Tamika,

Like Matt B said, purchase LeGrand’s materials which fill in a lot of the details of the wholesale biz, including estimating repairs by yourself and determining market value. The short answer to your question, though, is…