Flipping or Lease Options best for newbie? - Posted by Lanie

Posted by Shawn Goins on October 28, 2003 at 09:08:41:

Lanie,
Maybe you should just talk to people naturally and not worry about finding a “mentor” I’m sure you can do it without having one. Use your books and this website among others to help you when you need it. If you join your REI Club and just talk to people and let them know where you’re at, someone might be willing to help you. Don’t go out of your way to find a mentor. Most experienced investors won’t help a beginner for free, at least on a regular mentorship type basis. Hope that helps!

Flipping or Lease Options best for newbie? - Posted by Lanie

Posted by Lanie on October 27, 2003 at 20:59:32:

Hello,

I am very new to real estate investing and want to jump into learning all I can and start taking action. I am just not sure what is best for me. I am torn between immersing myself in ‘Flipping’ or immersing myself in ‘Lease Options’.
Here’s my situation:

Very low on $$ but able to purchase one to two programs (just not sure which ones)

Bad credit (but currently working on cleaning it up)

Which avenue of RE is best for me?

I?m wanting and willing to work hard and be persistent but also don’t have a lot of experience in fixing up homes and such, no money and bad credit (for the time being)

Which would you recommend I start doing? Any advice is greatly appreciated.

Thanks!
Lanie

How about Flipping Lease Options? - Posted by Doug Pretorius

Posted by Doug Pretorius on October 28, 2003 at 09:39:10:

You can do this too. Also known as Lease Option Assignments, or Lease Option Consulting. This is usually a bit less profitable than wholesale flips per deal, but in most markets they’re easier to get. You also open yourself up to being able to flip to investors OR homebuyers.