Foreclosure status - Posted by Marie(NY)

Posted by Bill K. (AZ) on June 25, 2000 at 24:56:16:

Jay,

I think it’s a great business. Just keep in mind, “no down payment” doesn’t necessarily mean that your seller doesn’t get any money. If you’re looking for those deals, it will be tough going. Much better to look for deals that require “none of YOUR money” to get in. There are quite a few more of those available.

I hope this helps.

Bill K. (AZ)

Foreclosure status - Posted by Marie(NY)

Posted by Marie(NY) on June 24, 2000 at 20:23:26:

i’m a newbie looking to make her first deal.

The property i’m interested in is (or about to be) in foreclosure but not yet an REO. I’m confused. i contacted the bank that owns the tax title to the property and was informed they don’t yet own it ???
how does this work? how do i negotiate a price and with whom? what happens when the property actually does go into foreclosure? how does the bank figure into this?

Any help is appreciated

It’s Called Involuntary Alienation… - Posted by Jack-NY

Posted by Jack-NY on June 25, 2000 at 10:51:50:

New York is a mortgage state. (Action)Nonpayment of a debt secured by real property. (Process) Foreclousure. (Property taken back by) Creditor.

Foreclosure in NYS. There are two types of foreclosure proceedings in New York, a judicial and a strict foreclosure. Strict foreclosure a rarely used; judicial foreclosure is the procedure followed in the majority of cases. In a judicial foreclosure, upon a borrower’s default the lender may accelerate the due date of all remaining payments. The lender’s attorney can then file a suit to foreclose the lien.