getting around realtors - Posted by JD

Posted by Redline on January 15, 1999 at 14:40:40:

Yes…

Actually, this MIGHT just be … (dare I say it) … WIN/WIN!

Happy Investing,
RL

getting around realtors - Posted by JD

Posted by JD on January 14, 1999 at 18:31:08:

How could I get around all the realtors who have easier and faster access to run down houses(that need rehab work)? I recently talked to a “we buy houses” guy, and he told me that he had a few realtors working for him, as far as finding houses that need rehab. If these guys have realtors working for them, than that doesn’t leave much room for us the “flippers” to find any houses with limited resources to use, as opposed what realtors use,Right? Please correct me if I’m wrong.
Thanks
JD

Look in other places - Posted by Rob FL

Posted by Rob FL on January 16, 1999 at 19:29:33:

I am a realtor. And to be frank, most of the properties I have bought have not been from the MLS. The MLS is simply a tool. The three best ways other than MLS to find properties are (1) searching the public records and (2) driving neighborhoods (3) bank repos.

In searching the public records, I subscribe to a foreclosure notice report. It lists all the notices of foreclsure (pre-foreclosure) filed in my county every single a week. There is an easy 40-60 properties to weed through every week. Other public records include: probate, divorce, city/county lien searches, etc. The last house I bought from a tired landlord. Just sent out a mass mailing to all the landlord owners in a particular neighborhood about 40 letters in all. Got 3 or 4 responses and ended up buying from one of them. I kept as a rental after doing a few hundred in work myself, but you could use the same idea on a flip.