Getting calls, but ... - Posted by Sally Fodern

Posted by Gary on August 28, 2003 at 08:25:17:

Thanks JS -
It is becoming appearant to me that REI is a “numbers game” - like panning for gold - you have to go through much sand before you find gold. Your last post on this subject gave me a hint that possibly, to the experienced, that isn’t the case -but alas- I think it’s still true.

Although I’ve lived in Missouri since 1988, I grew up in Danville, IN. I have fond memories of going to Gray Brothers Cafeteria (in Mooresville) and shopping at Lafayette Square (on 38th street). I’ve enjoyed reading your posts and appreciate your point of view on other posts on the board.
Thanks for the reply,
Gary

Getting calls, but … - Posted by Sally Fodern

Posted by Sally Fodern on August 24, 2003 at 23:52:33:

I’m just getting started, and figured the easiest and least costly advertising I could do to get started was bandit signs. So I got some made up, and have put out about 25 in the past few weeks. I’ve received about 8 calls so far, and the last 12 signs just went up the other night. Anyway, I’m pleased with the calls I’m getting. I’m surprised that each of them could be described as moderately to very motivated i.e. no tire kickers or curiosity seekers. So this is good. The situations are right - foreclosure, bankruptcy, classic don’t wanters, etc. - but the numbers just aren’t working out. All houses in the 100-300k range, and I could have probably made a small profit of 8-12k on at least 6 of the 8 properties, but I just couldn’t pull the trigger on any of them as the profits seem a little too small and not worth doing. Now I know that I’ve only got 8 calls so far and this is not enough to come to any conclusions, but am I on the right track? I keep telling myself that any one of them could have been a nice 20-30k payday … the numbers just haven’t been quite right. I mean, surely there is a lot of luck involved here too. Should I just keep doing what I’m doing? I’m learn