Getting started, 10% down? - Posted by Jeff

Posted by terryr on March 17, 2001 at 17:06:08:

you have got a GOOD THING - nothing wrong with what you are doing as long as property (rents) will support projects and produce POSITIVE cash flow - it is easy to buy houses no money down and still go bankrupt - i am trying to convince my wife this very thing

Getting started, 10% down? - Posted by Jeff

Posted by Jeff on March 17, 2001 at 12:37:20:

I’m just getting started investing and came into contact with a mortgage company who pre-approved me for an investor loan that requires 10% down on a property purchase. The consultant explained to me over the phone that they own properties in the rental market area I’m interested in. I also have a line of credit at my credit union which I could access for the 10% down payment. I was just wondering how feasible this type of financing sounds (for rental homes) or if I should just stick to something such as Lease/Option purchases as a beginner?

Re: Getting started, 10% down? - Posted by Ed Garcia

Posted by Ed Garcia on March 18, 2001 at 09:29:59:

Jeff,

I want you to know that I am an advocate for lender financing because I feel if used properly, you will grow. However don’t think for one minute that I would turn my back on a lease/option, or would not attempt to structure all of my deals with a seller carry-back.

Jeff, many times the deal speaks for it’s self. If the seller won’t lease option or seller carry-back, and it’s a good deal, then what is there to think about. On the other hand, if the deal is a skinny deal, Meaning not enough profit, then it may not justify financing it using conforming financing because it may not be cost effective. A perfect example is a flip.
I’ve seen investors wanting to arrange financing on a flip, that didn’t warrant it because the profit wouldn’t justify the cost.

Ed Garcia

Re: Getting started, 10% down? - Posted by Scott M.

Posted by Scott M. on March 17, 2001 at 17:34:38: