Getting Started- MH's - Posted by JHyre in Ohio

Posted by Tony C on March 15, 1999 at 19:52:41:

Drop me a line and maybe we could share some ideas. I am a “newbie” in Columbus, and have many questions (maybe some good ideas as well.) I have some knowledge of your area, I went to BG, and used to live in Toledo.

Thanks, TC

Getting Started- MH’s - Posted by JHyre in Ohio

Posted by JHyre in Ohio on March 14, 1999 at 10:33:34:

Hi Everyone!

We have 5 MH parks in Findlay. Three are high end and in GREAT demand due to Findlay’s relatively expensive housing market (for rural Ohio). Owners permit only owner-OCCUPANTS. All homes for sale in these parks were listed and $20k+. Must be home in park OR new home from owners. Anything to be done? Or are these parks too “nice” and locked by owner-restrictions? Lonnie seems to suggest mid-level parks in his books.

Other 2 parks are opposite extreme- NASTY with frequent visitation by Findlay law enforcement personnel. Saw 2 FSBO. Will call out of curiosity. Noticed opposing views in prior posts- some like very low end, others avoid them. Any advice?

There are lot’s of parks within 30 miles of Findlay, so I’ll find some middle ground on subsequent searches. As Dave Segars told me, not all parks are listed in Big Book, so there are even MORE than I thought- I just have to run into them. If need be, I’ll go to parks 60+ minutes out- I WILL find a place to do deals. All comments appreciated- unless you are Steve Meiners.

John Hyre

Re: Getting Started- MH’s - Posted by DougO(NM)

Posted by DougO(NM) on March 14, 1999 at 20:34:35:

Why don’t you just buy those “nasty” parks and clean them up ? Then you can control your own spaces for MH deals.
Doug

Re: Getting Started- MH’s - Posted by Tony (OH)

Posted by Tony (OH) on March 14, 1999 at 18:30:36:

Just curious…Have you checked Lima (south) or Wood Co. (north)? Also, you’re not that far from areas outside of Toledo that may be very good (I was thinking about Delta/Wauseon area?)