Getting Started - Posted by Westside Johnny (IN)

Posted by John (KS) on December 07, 1998 at 13:34:17:

“KA-CHINGGGG!!!”? I heard it. Every Sunday I scan the MH ad’s, the past 4 or 5 weeks there has been virtually nothing for sale I would even call on, just 20K doublewides. This week, there were at least 5 I am calling on tonight, all in the $2500-$1000 range (I won’t offer more than $1000 for any of them), plus one of my park mgrs called and asked if I had anyone to buy a home they just evicted someone out of. They will sell it to me for $800. I can easily get $3000 on contract. I have “GOT” to get my ad back in the paper.

I hunted the paper yesterday and found one “I buy houses” ad. I will call tonight. What kind of response did you get? I a good one I assume, you sound pretty motivated! How did the conversation go?

Later, John (KS)

Getting Started - Posted by Westside Johnny (IN)

Posted by Westside Johnny (IN) on December 02, 1998 at 15:22:10:

Oh yay… I’m a newbie.

Any tips on getting started investing would be greatly appreciated. I am currently reading as much as I can about investing while my first home is being built. I should be in business by April.

Please help me out and steer me in the right direction.

Re: Getting Started - Posted by Jackie in Dallas

Posted by Jackie in Dallas on December 02, 1998 at 22:32:40:

…in business by April. WHY WAIT?

You can get started RIGHT NOW with no money, no credit and no risk with flipping or wholesaling properties!

Here’s the short list of how to do it:

1. Look in the newspaper and write down all the numbers of the “We Buy Houses” ads.

2. Call them - find out where they want to buy and what price range - ask if they are cash buyers or will they need time for financing.

3. On some Saturday morning, drive to an older neighborhood ( houses about 20+ years old) - and start looking for vacant houses (tall grass is a dead give away) or houses that are very run down. Write down the address.