Good L/O? Bad Neighbor Problem! - Posted by JohnPa

Posted by JohnPa on April 21, 2000 at 06:50:15:

Jim,
Thanks for the input. To answer your questions, there is no room for a second driveway location due to the layout of the land. Also, you know how every neighborhood has a trouble maker who doesn’t get along with anybody? He is one of those people.
Maybe I should talk directly with the seller first before getting involved with the neighbor to see if there is a deal to be made.
Thanks again, JohnPa

Good L/O? Bad Neighbor Problem! - Posted by JohnPa

Posted by JohnPa on April 20, 2000 at 21:18:40:

I’m a newbie and looking to do my first L/O on a neighbors property. Property has been on the market for 8 months and was originally listed at $125K and is now redused to $90K. FMV is $100-$110K. 3BR 1.5 baths. The home is vacant since it is a vacation/lake property. I know the owner but have not approached him yet or formulated an offer.

Now for the glitch. He is becoming a motivated seller due to his neighbor. They both share a common driveway and everytime a Realtor comes to show the house he tells them that they can’t use the driveway, it’s his, etc… Basically, he is driving potential buyers away. This is why the home hasn’t sold and the asking price has been reduced three times in 8 months.

The odds are good that I can come to terms with the seller but may end up with a problem in the future trying to L/O or sell outright due to the “problem” next door.

Any ideas on how to approach this one?

Thanks in advance. JohnPa

Re: Good L/O? Bad Neighbor Problem! - Posted by Jim IL

Posted by Jim IL on April 20, 2000 at 22:16:41:

John,
Sounds like this “problem neighbor” might have a problem with the seller.
Hopefully that means you and he are on good terms?
If that is the case, or if you do not even know him, go talk to him.
Tell him you are thinking of buying the place, and would like to talk to him about your plans.