Great opportunity? - Any advice appreciated!! - Posted by JimR

Posted by Laure on March 20, 1999 at 07:47:41:

I have heard a lot of stories where good people just can’t qualify for a bank loan. One thing or another. And they JUMP at owner financing. I have five I have sold this way since November, and NOT ONE has even asked for a discount on my price ! It’s like taking candy from a baby compared to a MLS listing.

Laure :slight_smile:

Great opportunity? - Any advice appreciated!! - Posted by JimR

Posted by JimR on March 18, 1999 at 18:27:42:

I’m fairly new at creative R/E investing and would REALLY appreciate any advice… Right now I have what I know must be a great opportunity, but I’m unsure of the best strategy! I looked at a property a couple of months ago - it is what LeGrand would call a pretty house - asking price is just over $160K and it has an assumable VA mortgage of 7%. (It is not the old, non-qualifying type, though - I think he’d have to give up his eligibility if buyer’s not a vet.?) This is a MOTIVATED SELLER!! He has not lived in the house for close to 6 months and has moved about 40 mi. away and taken a new job. The property was listed in a FSBO magazine back before Christmas & I called him - he said just make an offer - wants to sell it, will rent - anything! However, since that mag. came out - he had listed it with a broker and he was reluctant to talk to me very much - he did state however, that his mort. balance was close to $150K! (Maybe he’d accept much less?? - I don’t know.) It’s now 3 months later and he still hasn’t sold or rented it! It needs little or no work and should appraise in this area for at least around $150K.