Have a deal and situation I've never done before - need advice before tonight! - Posted by Jen NE

Posted by Richard on February 02, 2000 at 24:02:18:

Sounds iffy to me.
I am not up on the local laws and real estate
customs in your area but…
A Title insurance is required by sane investors
no insurance, no deal!!!
B is this gambling?
C how much can you afford to loose?
D how many properties have you been
on title to?
E he (she) who is in too big a hurry
is first to loose big money

Good luck.

Have a deal and situation I’ve never done before - need advice before tonight! - Posted by Jen NE

Posted by Jen NE on February 01, 2000 at 09:54:57:

OK… I have a pending deal in which I’m signing a contract tonight, but don’t know how to address a couple of things… Thanks for you help in advance :wink:

Here’s the stats:

House: SFR 3 Bed, 1.5 Bed, 1 car detached
Neighborhood: Not bread and butter, but not war zone… Lower end.
Mortgages or other liens: None - paid in full. I have access to the courthouse records.
Taxes: Delinquent. A Tax Lien was sold in 1997 and the Tax Lien Certificate holder gets the property on 3/3/2000 if taxes and interest are not paid in full which is $2,000. So I only have a month!
Comps: Comps run about $35K in good condition. ($40K tops)
Repairs: This place needs everything —paint, carpet, new furnace, new water heater, drywall/plaster work, new gutters, etc… My handyman estimates $15K.
Sellers: Shannon and Gene who are willing to sell it to me for $4K ($2K for them and $2K to pay off the taxes).

They are willing to just sign the deed but…they don’t have it yet. Shannon and Gene are the children of the owner (their mother) who died. There was no will. Shannon said they did not go thru probate yet as she does not have the $300 to give the lawyer. (lawyer said probate would take 2 weeks —remember I have a month before the tax sale).

So here are my questions: