help! Foreclosure deal (my 1st one!!) - Posted by charles

Posted by John (Houston) on March 17, 2002 at 01:07:24:

Can I get a copy of that 2? I am a newbie reading these posts and taking down good notes. I have a cousin (wife’s side) in the exact same position. Just the numbers are a 'lil diferent. He is just gonna let it go back reo, but I think it would be better to get in on this pre(instead of REO).

help! Foreclosure deal (my 1st one!!) - Posted by charles

Posted by charles on March 16, 2002 at 01:58:12:

the owner picked and left…couldnt handle the stress any further.
However i have her tel# in her new State and apparently she will take $2,000 under the table to just turn the sell/deed the home over to me and walk away.
comps are $115,000-118,000.
The foreclosing lender has balance of approx. $84,000 incl. atty fees/7 mos arrears.
Here;s my question
(i) Do i write a contract with her for say, 80,000 and then submit to the Lender for a “Short Pay off” (Short sale??)

OR

(ii) Do i encourage her to give the foreclosing lender “deed in lieu of f/c” and buy the home directly from the lender using conv. financing?

Please advise!!! Any ideas where i can get verbage for a “short payoff” request to submit to the lender??? Do I give them a copy of my contract with her if i get one?? (obviously i wont tell the lender about her getting 2,000 )

Please help!!

Charles

Re: help! Foreclosure deal (my 1st one!!) - Posted by Richard Rothschild

Posted by Richard Rothschild on March 23, 2002 at 13:56:09:

JohnBoy’s advice is superior!

Also… don’t forget to check the owner for liens or judgements that could also be encumbering the property in addition to the mortgage and taxes.

-Rich

Re: help! Foreclosure deal (my 1st one!!) - Posted by JohnBoy

Posted by JohnBoy on March 16, 2002 at 11:22:06: