Help - got heartburn over this one - Posted by SueC

Posted by SueC on October 31, 2000 at 15:18:08:

those are all great ideas, and thanks - I will be sure to add them to my quiver, so to speak. But, the problem with this particular hound is that the property probably won’t appreciate but depreceiate over the next year or two, and the renters who want to rent don’t want to make payments that would even to cover the mortgage. So, rent credits and share in value won’t work.

I dont mind losing, as long as I’ve learned my lesson - dues payment, coming up! :wink:

Help - got heartburn over this one - Posted by SueC

Posted by SueC on October 31, 2000 at 12:50:34:

Well, as a newbie I made two of the biggest mistakes newbies can make, bought in a neighborhood I don’t know, and for a price that was too high. Seller is someone I know, I didn’t want to insult her (but apparently I didn’t mind losing money.)

House appraises at $90K, I offered 75K as-is and it was accepted, have $5K into it already with at least another $3-4K to go - then found out the fireplace needs work for another $2K. Plus - I may have holding costs up to a year on this one, nothing is moving in this neighborhood, there are dozens of props for sale here. I want to back out of the deal and lose the $5K, before I lose at least $5 in holding costs and add’l work. I don’t know about the rental market, but I’m guessing it’s slow too, not a desirable area.

Although some recent comps are in the 95-100K area, I don’t know how long they sat before selling. My asking price is $91,900.

I thought rent-to-own might move a house here, but the calls I’m getting are for folks who can afford about $450 a month.

I figure this is just an expensive lesson, cut my losses and move on. TIA for the feedback.

Re: Help - got heartburn over this one - Posted by Bill Scott

Posted by Bill Scott on October 31, 2000 at 19:41:55: