HELP?!?!?!? - Posted by Whitney King

Posted by BTI on May 27, 2007 at 10:17:15:

Whitney

When I started investing I had just turned 16 and didn’t look that old.

My key was to learn to read people and when I sensed reluctance due to my age, I brought it up with " I sense your a little nervous about my age, may I ask you something? Which is more important to you, my age or the age of my money? And as long as everything is above board and legal, do you think you can just look at the merits of this transaction and forget what I look like?"

That usually did the trick, and I did everything possible to make the deal a pleasant transaction which led to repeat deals and referrals. I do have to admit it was a lot easier at 19 when I reached 6’3" and 210 lbs but I know I could have still been successful if I had stayed looking like a kid, and I know you can too.

BTI

HELP?!?!?!? - Posted by Whitney King

Posted by Whitney King on May 10, 2007 at 22:25:28:

I’m just starting out in this business at the rather young age of 17. I would like to know how to get started, put my best foot forward and make it off the ground.

Re: Focus and Clarity… - Posted by David Butler

Posted by David Butler on May 11, 2007 at 13:18:33:

Hey Whitney,

Best immediate advice is to suggest asking questions with a purpose!

“Help!!!”; “I’m Confused?”; “How Do I Start”; etc. show a lack of thought, commitment, and/or initiative - whether you intended to communicate those negative appearances or not. And it generally makes it impossible to get very meaningful answers… if for no other reason than the question that accompanies it is generally overly broad.

As far as getting started… well, you’ve come to the the right place. Simply enter “getting started” right into the “Search” feature at the top of this Forum, and you’ll pull up a ton of detailed suggestions on how to get started dealing with cash flows"! :wink: