Help with knowing the value of a home and seller financing - Posted by Candace Huber

Posted by Sean on May 13, 1999 at 13:00:07:

No, I have no idea what purchase price would have come up with. I haven’t done any due diligence on the properties.

On the other hand, I know I’d be getting a 2 percent spread. I’m happy to borrow money at 7 percent and invest it at 9 percent. I’d be happy to have several trillion dollars on those terms. Wouldn’t you?

As for minimum profit, I loaned a friend $5.00 yesterday and they’re due to pay me back tomorrow $5.01. So I guess I’m willing to go as low as 1 cent profit per deal.

Help with knowing the value of a home and seller financing - Posted by Candace Huber

Posted by Candace Huber on May 12, 1999 at 21:58:12:

I am brand new to rei and I need a lot of answers. How do you find what a home is worth? Is the only way to get an appraisal? Or is there some other way to do this? Also when you have a seller finance you are they just keeping their mortgage and you are making payments to them. Or do they need to get another loan. I have a lot to learn so any help in the right direction would be appreciative. Stay tuned for more questions as the days go buy.

Agree with JPiper, Jim Beavens - Posted by Baltimore BirdDog

Posted by Baltimore BirdDog on May 14, 1999 at 13:04:47:

Candace,

Sean’s assertion that you should determine your own cap rate based upon the financing that you can get for the property and in turn use that cap rate to determine the price you’d be willing to pay for the property is incorrect. I think JPiper, Jim Beavens and others have established that:

1. the market via sales of comparable income-producing properties, not the investor, determines the cap rate that should be used to calculate the FMV of a particular property;