Help with subject to existing morgage offer - Posted by Jason Smathers

Posted by Redline on March 03, 2000 at 23:52:58:

I was curious to see how you were approaching the situation - and of course, what you plan on doing with the property makes a difference.

I have to defer, however to the others on the board about how to structure this the best way - some of them are alot more qualified than I. What you’re doing appears to be fine to me but as always I’m sure there’s a better way and I’m sure someone will post it shortly.

Good luck and keep us posted,
RL

Help with subject to existing morgage offer - Posted by Jason Smathers

Posted by Jason Smathers on March 03, 2000 at 23:17:49:

I am a newbie and need help with this offer:
PLease email me at JasonS2e@aol.com if you think I need to do anything different here. I am making the offer tomorow, so if this looks like I am going to get burned… PLEASE email me and let me know what to change.

I have an appointment tomorow with the seller and the seller’s listing agent. Seller is asking $117,000 and has an exisiting morgage on the property for $96,000. This is what I want to do:
put the house in a land trust.
transfer the interest of the trust into my name.
I begin making the payments on the house.
Pay the 6% to the listing agent in the form of a note.
If the seller gets greedy, I dont mind giving him a note also for a small ammount so he gets a little equity out of the property. I dont want to pay too much for the property, but the house is for myself and I like it a lot and dont mind paying fair value is the terms are right.

What I need to figure out is how to put this in an offer.
This is what I have ready…

1. a promisary note ready to give to the RE agent, to be baid back over 5 years with 7% interest, the price not yet filled in.