How cheap is cheap enough on this second??? - Posted by Drew

Posted by Sean on February 03, 2000 at 18:58:16:

…I’m just thinking that to a judge it may look like the person filing bankruptcy sold an asset worth $17,500 (from his point of view) for $4,000 very shortly before filing.

Won’t the judge wonder if the transaction was conducted at arms length? Perhaps the judge thinks there’s a secret agreement between the purchaser and seller to share the profits after the bankruptcy is discharged. Perhaps the judge will think the sale is a sham designed to cheat creditors out of their rightful due.

I am not a bankruptcy lawyer. I’m just thinking aloud. I wonder what John thinks.

How cheap is cheap enough on this second??? - Posted by Drew

Posted by Drew on February 02, 2000 at 21:48:33:

Hello to all you cashflow junkies out there!

Just got off the phone with guy that is holding a $17,500 interest only, 3 year balloon, 2nd TD on home worth $185,000. The 1st is for $154,000 so the total LTV is a whopping 93%. Neither he nor the payors have any other colatteral to attach it to. Normally, I would send this guy to the butt-head across town just to waste some of his time (see John, I was paying attention at the bootcamp), but…

…then things started to get interesting. Just for kicks, I asked him what he wanted for it and what he intended to use the money for. He says he intends to file bankruptcy soon (a couple of weeks) and wants to get some cash for his assets prior to filing. He also says he was hoping to get $8,000 for the note. I chuckle a bit and tell him “good luck.” I tell him that his note is worth very very little and he proceeds to talk himself down to $4,000.