How do I get my money back out? - Posted by Mike8675

Posted by mike8675 on March 20, 1999 at 11:20:13:

I’m fairly new to REI and that’s why I asked. I wanted experienced opinions and I got it. Thanks.
Mike8675

How do I get my money back out? - Posted by Mike8675

Posted by Mike8675 on March 20, 1999 at 08:47:21:

If I purchase an apartment for $175,000 (FMV is $190,000) using a conventional lender and I put $18,000 down to get financing, how can I get that money back out of the property to use it on my next without creating a note and having it discounted by a note broker? The last thing I want is that money tied up for a long period!
Thanks,
Mike8675

Re: How do I get my money back out? - Posted by Nancy-NC

Posted by Nancy-NC on March 20, 1999 at 12:45:00:

Before buying a rental building. Be sure you want to be a landlord. I am one and I like it. But you have to be a little bit of a control freak.

You MUST have positive cash flow. That means some money left over after ALL expenses. And you have to be in the landlording market for the long haul, it is not a way to get rich quick. Rental properties build you net worth. They are the foundation of your wealth and a way to park money for growth and to create an income stream.

I would not advise a multiple family unit for a beginner. Way too many things can go wrong and the seller can hide all types of expenses that would eat up your positive cash flow if you had any?

NEVER, NEVER, buy something that loses money each month. No matter how good it looks or how good the location looks.

HAVE FUN AND REMEMBER TO KEEP A POSITIVE MENTAL ATTITUDE.

GOOD LUCK!!!

Good Question… - Posted by JPiper

Posted by JPiper on March 20, 1999 at 09:41:01:

Based on the information you gave…you don’t. But if you get it figured out, make sure to let me know.

If you bought the property at a significant discount to FMV…then perhaps you can refinance depending on the numbers…but you didn’t.