How do you feel about the Chicago RE market? - Posted by Mark Chicago

Posted by Jim IL on January 14, 2001 at 24:22:38:

Harold,
Good to know you were not pokin fun.
At any rate, I love to talk REI with others, and the true creative investor does not seem to be local.
Feel free to drop me an e-mail off the board sometime and perhaps we can talk shop a bit.
What part of the area are you in anyway?
Suburbs or the city?
Take care,
Jim IL

How do you feel about the Chicago RE market? - Posted by Mark Chicago

Posted by Mark Chicago on January 13, 2001 at 19:36:13:

I think this is my first time posting… (umm… ehh… err… I’m a little shy… and er… anyway…)

Anyone working deals around the Chicago Area?
I just got the Ron LeGrand super course and plan to use some of these techniques around here as soon as I finish it (45 days?)

What are your opinions about Chicago? How does the drop in interest rates affect flip and LO deals?

Re: How do you feel about the Chicago RE market? - Posted by Jim Locker

Posted by Jim Locker on January 13, 2001 at 19:57:51:

I think landlords are coming into good times. I think flippers are coming into bad times. I expressed this opinion in some detail here:
http://boards.fool.com/Message.asp?mid=13901874

At this time, my region (OH) is very obviously sliding into recession. I rather expect things in Chicago to go the same way.

To be perfectly blunt about it, as a major landlord I welcome this recession with open arms.

The coasts? We’ll see. Seems to me the high tech industry is slowing sharply (and beginning to encounter a secular change in environment WRT personal computers) - which will affect the west coast anyway.

Re: How do you feel about the Chicago RE market? - Posted by Harold Thornbro

Posted by Harold Thornbro on January 13, 2001 at 19:49:37: