How to determine value of a resteraunt? - Posted by Rob

Posted by Craig McCracken (AL) on July 04, 2006 at 09:08:27:

Jimmy,

Bare with me here as I’m also new to all this. Is there any genralized rule of thumb for doing a prelim. evaluation of a commercial building ? Something perhaps along the lines of X times annual rents ? I mean it seems that a 2m building with say 4 units that rents for 500 each a month would not be a good investment. :slight_smile:

Craig

How to determine value of a resteraunt? - Posted by Rob

Posted by Rob on June 14, 2006 at 23:02:03:

I found a property that is in foreclosure in an upcoming urban area designated as an arts and entertainment district. 15 new liquor licenses have been approved for sale at $15,000 each. There are three storefronts with 4 totally gutted loft apartment above. The owner actually lives in the storfronts and has opened up the first floor to function as one unit. He has updated all electric, heating, roof, plumbing and even installed a sprinkler system. He also has engineering blue prints to finish the loft apartments. I want to open a resteraunt on the first floor and the the apartments will rent for $1,000 each.

How do I determine the value of this property after the rehab is complete. I estimated about 50 people per day at $25 per person 6 days per week for the resteraunt. I am working on the expense for food and staff, but is there a rule of thumb to go off of just in case I need to act quickly to purchase the property.

The asking price is $275,000. I can probably convince him to carry a note. His mortgage is about $120,000 and he is behind in taxes about $9,000. He obviously want some money to walk. If this deal makes since how can I structure it so that we both win. I really don’t want to wait until auction, since the property is in such good shape and has so many updates relative to similar properties.

Re: How to determine value of a resteraunt? - Posted by Rob