How to know when to change something? - Posted by Kent-OR

Posted by Jim IL on October 25, 2000 at 16:59:15:

Scott,
I place my bandit signs at the intersections leading to and from subdivisions and at major thorofare intersections.
Pretty much anywhere I can.
My flyers I place on bulletin boards at grocery stores, newspaper mailboxes near home. (Not the postal mailboxes, that is illegal, but where the newspaper is to be placed.)
And, I pass them out door to door on occassion.
I do not do this myself however, I usually pay some kids to do it, or have my own kids do it for me.
And, I also run a newspaper ad most of the time as well.

HTH,
Jim IL

How to know when to change something? - Posted by Kent-OR

Posted by Kent-OR on October 24, 2000 at 17:29:28:

Hi everyone. I’m new to REI, having bought three duplexes, one fourplex, and a small fixer house. I also have done a wholesale flip deal.

My question to the experienced investors out there is this: How do you know when to dig in and “BE PERSISTENT” as opposed to doing something differently because an approach is not working? Being new, I find this difficult to gauge.

I’ve put up over 150 bandit signs, had an ad in the paper running two months, mailed out over 2,500 postcards to out of state owners, and I still have not completed a deal. I am seriously frustrated and think by the law of numbers I should have easily done one (perhaps several) deals by now.

Perhaps I’m too focused up on generating leads and not following through with leads once I get them? I try to avoid this. When I think I have a motivated seller, I do my best to find out what their needs are and make them an offer that fits their situation.

Education is probably one answer. The more you learn, the more you earn is how the saying goes. I’m all for it yet I don’t want to get stuck in a paralysis of analysis. I was stuck for about a year in that mode, learning REI as an academic subject.