how to profit in a downward trending market? - Posted by Jason

Posted by Tim in AR on April 20, 2006 at 16:20:49:

Back in the late '70s when rates were double-digit my pop and his partners bought foreclosures for pennies on the dollar, rehabbed them, rented them, sold them when rates declined and make baskets full of money. I think the key is to be sure you are happily living in a house with a 6 percent note and then go nuts investing when rates sky. There’s always a way to make money on real estate.

how to profit in a downward trending market? - Posted by Jason

Posted by Jason on April 18, 2006 at 19:18:27:

I know this is going to sound like a newbie q… but…
In this market, it seems like we are trending towards a big increase in foreclosures… here in NH, many are going back to the lender, b/c the homebuyers are not are common as they have been…
I have been investing for 6 years, and work many in the preforeclosure market - but I am getting spooked about how many are going back to the lender.
FOr those who experienced/are experiencing a market that seems to be declining/flattened – what is the best way to profit and protect yourself from what may happen (if the market decreases, and values dip over the next 3-5 yrs)?
Sorry to sound like a nervous nelly – but I am not used to this kind of market… I am used to increasing ones…
Thanks
Jason

Re: how to profit in a downward trending market? - Posted by Sean

Posted by Sean on April 21, 2006 at 14:32:00:

Down/Slow market you follow the rules that have been for real estate forever up until about 1970s when the Carter Debacle caused housing prices to go through the roof because it was the only place you could park money without being hammered by inflation.

That is, ONLY BUY IF ITS A DEAL! Never buy banking on appreciation… unless you are willing to lose your money… that’s speculation.