How to start in an high-priced market - Posted by Chris_NJ

Posted by Chris_NJ on September 29, 2003 at 14:55:22:

Ron,

Thanks for the thoughts - that’s kind of what I feared. I’ll try to keep looking - I can find lower priced areas as I travel south and/or west in NJ.

In that regard, would you suggest that there is an “ideal” or maximum price range for neighborhoods which are likely to yield the most flippable properties?

Thanks again.

-Chris

How to start in an high-priced market - Posted by Chris_NJ

Posted by Chris_NJ on September 29, 2003 at 10:18:54:

Like many others here, I’m just getting started in REI, but home is Northern NJ, where a typical suburban block is lined with 400K - 500K houses, and those aren’t even the “rich sections”. I’m wondering if it will be much harder to apply creative REI ideas in such a high priced area for a beginner. Any thoughts?

-Chris_NJ

Both creative and “noncreative”… - Posted by Ronald * Starr(in No CA)

Posted by Ronald * Starr(in No CA) on September 29, 2003 at 13:20:30:

Chris–(NJ)------------------

I’d suggest that it will be harder to do both creative and non-creative deals there. Here in the San Fran Bay Area, we have similiar situation you face.

I recommend only three possible ways to go:
buy for appreciation and accept the negative cash flow, hoping that there will enough appreciation to greatly overwhelm the negative cash flow.
Buy for cash flow in some other area where prices are lower. I live in Oakland, CA, and my most recent purchases have all been in the state of Oklahoma.
Buy bargain-priced houses nearby and resell for a profit. This may be difficult if the market is hot.

Good Investing**********Ron Starr**************

Re: Both creative and “noncreative”… - Posted by Ronald * Starr(in No CA)

Posted by Ronald * Starr(in No CA) on September 29, 2003 at 20:01:14:

Chris–(NJ)---------------