I am a newbie, and already devastated... - Posted by Frank, FL

Posted by IB (NJ) on June 19, 2007 at 06:18:47:

I almost lost my shirt dealing with listing agents of REO’s when I started out 7 years ago. The MLS prices were just too darn high and the listing agents too inflexible.

I soon realized that the big money in REI is dealing directly with sellers and no middle man involved. I would leave the MLS alone if I were you. Use them for comps and that’s probably about it.

Ib

I am a newbie, and already devastated… - Posted by Frank, FL

Posted by Frank, FL on June 15, 2007 at 07:57:39:

I am losing hope and sleep over a house I haven’t been able to wholesale.

I have already wholesaled 3 properties, in the 2 months I have been working at it, but this deal is the first time I can make some really good money off of a single deal.

I came accross a brand new listing in the MLS of a property that needed work, and wasn’t too far off from a price I would pay for it. The comps (really good comps) came at $400k, and they were asking $275k. Repairs needed are $40k. My first offer was $230k, and they countered at $272k.

At this point, the agent also tells me that they have a lot of activity in the house, and that they already had an offer for $240k. Despite my BS meter going off, I know I can go up to $245k, so I arrange a meeting with the listing agents and the seller to present my offer. I go with a cash offer for $235k in my hand.