I made my first call :) - Posted by Jeanne

Posted by Jeanne on October 22, 2003 at 15:32:58:

Hmmm…Boston…Maui…Boston…Maui…
yep, I’d choose Maui, too! :slight_smile: (although I do love Boston…)

I think the market may be softening a bit, as there seems to be LOTS for sale all of a sudden…

Thanks for everyone’s input here…I really appreciate it. What if he wants to pull a credit report or something? GADS. We’re not nearly that far, but just thinking ahead… I can provide great personal and business references, but my credit is indeed shot for the time being.
jeanne

I made my first call :slight_smile: - Posted by Jeanne

Posted by Jeanne on October 22, 2003 at 13:06:57:

Hi, I’m new to this…have posted before. I am in a difficult financial situation (have posted below “I want a house”, if you want particulars.

I pass a for sale by owner home everyday on my way to work…
and today I called on it! I spoke with the owner who had bought it for his son and daughter in law, who’ve moved out of state. It is sitting vacant. Price is set at $260-something (good for Massachusetts!) and he might be willing to consider a lease purchase with between 3 and 5k down. He said he would call me back or that I should call him back tomorrow. Sounded like a nice guy.

My questions is…if this should go further…should I be blatantly honest and disclose my financial situation to him? I would like to. (Had bankruptcy, etc…) I actually had to sell my home of 17 years last December out from underneath a foreclosure. Any thoughts on this? If everything proceeded according to plan, I would offer him 3k now, 2 years to secure the mtg and complete the purchase…and X amount for rent, with X amount going toward our down-payment every month. Would offer him asking price as incentive. Yes, I know lots of variables.

Any thoughts on what if anything I should tell the seller(s) about my financial situation. Thanks.
jeanne

Re: I made my first call :slight_smile: - Posted by John P. (Maui, HI)