I need advice on buying a note where the payor is in bankruptcy - Posted by Jason B.

Posted by Jason B. on June 14, 2000 at 21:11:14:

Sean,
Sorry If I didnt make myself clear. I would get a loan for the 71k as I dont have the cash to buy it.
The owner will DIE before he sells his house. That is the reason I feel he will use every available option to save his house and delay my payments.

I need advice on buying a note where the payor is in bankruptcy - Posted by Jason B.

Posted by Jason B. on June 14, 2000 at 01:14:08:

I am new to the world of notes and need some advice from the veterans. I was working with someone in Alabama who was trying to save his home from foreclosure. He had been in bankrupcty and it was dismissed NOT DISCHARGED. His original loan amount was 73k and his payoff was 87k after all late fees, etc. were added. Our agreement was that I would get him financed at at least 87k and could keep any discount from the lender. I immediately requested a short sale. Unlike most lenders who require lots of paperwork, this lender accepted my offer of 71k the next day! The owner’s credit was too bad to refinance so I arranged for his brother to buy the house. He would buy the house for 87k and I would get the 16k difference. However, the day before closing, his brother was arrested!! The owner was then able to get his bankruptcy reinstated to buy him some more time. He says he no longer needs me because he can now refinance at 71k and not have to pay me. All of my hard work would get me nothing. I called the mortgage company and they are willing to sell me the note for the same 71k. However, I am worried about buying a note where the payor is in bankruptcy. The home is in excellent shape in an emerging area. The FMV is $125k. My plan would be to buy the note for 71k and wait for him to cash me out at 90k+. If he didnt pay I would get an $125k house for 71k. I am looking for advice on how to proceed with this deal. All advice is appreciated.

Thanks.