If I were a newbie here's what I'd do... - Posted by A.T.

Posted by A.T. on March 25, 2000 at 21:29:09:

I don’t see why not. You will get to see many of the documents…contracts, leases, etc.

I think if you keep your eyes open and ask questions a lot, you will learn. Plus make contacts!

A.T.

If I were a newbie here’s what I’d do… - Posted by A.T.

Posted by A.T. on March 25, 2000 at 10:06:03:

Hi,

I noticed that the two most common threads on this board are

1. People who have a lack of knowledge about real estate, real estate documents and how a real estate deal is actually put together.

2. People who are currently unemployed or do not feel that they have the financial “stuff” to get their first deal going.

I think I have a solution that solves both of those problems. I have spent the past year and a half doing temp work at large banks in their mortgage departments. It is generally document review type of work and does not require any special skills or talents. The pay is generally $9-$10 per hour but that is not the important part. The important part is that you have access to the meat and potato(e)s of the real estate business…documents.

All day I go through loan and mortgage packages. It includes the loan app., credit reports, appraisals, sales contract and everything else involved in each loan. Seeing loan after loan, you begin to get a feel for what home values are. You learn what a bank considers when making a loan as far as what REALLY is good and bad credit. You find out that while certainly not all deals are ‘no money down’, banks often lend money to homebuyers, investors or not, with often just $2,000-$5,000 dollars down. MANY homeowners agree to second mortgages and holding notes or equity every day. I see it.