If someone could help me out - Posted by Mark Nardell

Posted by JohnWe (NoCA) on January 26, 2000 at 18:16:24:

You’re on track. Appraisal value and FMV are the same (at least for this example. Some appraisers will appraise for more than FMV, but that’s a whole other topic!). If the house appraises for 80K, then the deal would work.

If someone could help me out - Posted by Mark Nardell

Posted by Mark Nardell on January 24, 2000 at 23:40:27:

Hi,
I am new to all of this, but very interested in realestate investing and investing in notes. If there is anyone in the detroit area I would be interested to hear how the market is. I have purchased carlton sheet’s course and thought it was very good, but i have not finished the last couple chapters. I just got it two days ago. Here is my question I love the idea about being able to take cash out at closing. Is it possible to take a higher loan than what the asking price is and than get the rest of the loan in cash at the closing.
Here is the scenario. Let say there is a house with fmv of 90,000 and the seller wants to get out and is asking 65,000 cash. could I get a loan for 80,000 and take 15,000 with me at closing. I would also tell the seller to take care of the fee’s and commision since I gave him what he was asking. I would be getting 10k of equity, too. My credit is good. Couldn’t I just get a loan from a bank or mortgage lender for 80,000. I do not want to put any money down… Than i could sell it for fair market value and possible take home another 10K… How can I convince someone like the bank that this house has a fmv of 90,000 without having to get an appraisal??
If I am way off please tell me. I am excited about realestate investing and all of the great things it has to offer. Thanks for the help…

Re: If someone could help me out - Posted by JohnWe (NoCA)

Posted by JohnWe (NoCA) on January 25, 2000 at 19:12:51:

Can you get a loan for 80K? yes.
Can you convince the bank of 90K FMV without appraisal? No.