Illegal activity suspected, is this an opening? - Posted by Jim IL

Posted by Doug on January 20, 2000 at 01:59:00:

Hi Jim,
I’m no expert but I JUST had this happen to me. One of my tenants had a “friend” who was selling dope out of his apartment. I awoke one morning last week to find my building surrounded by state/local police. They arrested the friend but my tenant of course said he had no knowledge of it going on. Anyway the police told me I’d have no problem evicting him if I wanted to. I told my tenant he could stay but I had to raise the rent (not only for this but because my taxes went up also). I figured the worst that could happen is he moves out and that wouldn’t bother me a bit. I know, of course, that he knew what was going on. But, his friend really was the problem and now he’s gone. So the problem is gone and the rent is up. And if I ever decide I need to evict him I have all the reason I need.

Illegal activity suspected, is this an opening? - Posted by Jim IL

Posted by Jim IL on January 19, 2000 at 22:24:29:

Hello all,
This (scroll down, the article is pasted below) was in the local newspaper today. The offender is the son on my tenants. The house in the 500 block of Randall they are talking about is MINE!
I wonder if it is time to go “inspect” the place and insure that NO ILLEGAL activity is taking place there. (The illegal activity clause is in my lease, as well as an inspection clause. AND as an ex-cop, I will be able to tell IF there is something fishy goin on.)

These are my chronic late payors. They pay late EVERY month.
And “sometimes” I get a late fee. But, I’m usually soft on them, because they always have a sob story, and do not seem too bright.
Maybe this will allow me to get them out, and re-sell the place? (there in it on a L/O.)
Who knows, but it caught me eye.
I just hope they don’t spend there rent money to bond the loser kid out of jail, or hire a lawyer instead of paying me. hmmmmm? Õ¿Õ