I'm moving out of state. Should I sell or rent the house out? - Posted by Joe

Posted by Steve-Atl on February 10, 2000 at 12:26:08:

I assume this is your personal residence. Do you have much capital gain? If so, and you have lived there for two of the last five years, you are eligible to take the gain TAX FREE. If you convert to rental, I believe you lose that exclusion.

If you have much potental gain in your personal residence, you might want to consider selling to get a significant tax exclusion.

I’m moving out of state. Should I sell or rent the house out? - Posted by Joe

Posted by Joe on February 09, 2000 at 21:59:51:

I am just getting into real estate investing. I have no rentals currently. My preliminary cashflow analysis indicates I could break even if I rent my home using a property manager in the O’fallon, MO area. Great house, great location. However, I also have a nice relocation package where my new employer will guarantee the appraised value of my home if it does not sell within 60 days. If I sell within 60 days, there is a bonus incentive to me. I am moving to Calfornia by the Bay Area, SF, Silicone Valley … get the picture … $$$ homes. What do I do? Sell the house? Keep it as a rental? How much risk is there by being an out-of-state landlord? Is there a way to rent this house and still have a way to purchase a home in CA without the equity in my current home? Can I use equity in a rental to make a down payment on a home? or maybe I should just rent in CA.

If you were in my situation, a person trying to become a real estate investor, what would you do? Please help.

Re: I’m moving out of state. Should I sell or rent the house out? - Posted by Jeff

Posted by Jeff on February 10, 2000 at 21:50:08: