Inform the sell that you're an investor??? - Posted by HT

Posted by TRandle on November 21, 2000 at 14:32:40:

Jim,
Yes, I’m still anxiously awaiting the opportune moment to say “Look, I do this for a living!”. Contrary to LeGrand, I couldn’t ever bring myself to lie about my “status” so to speak when I was part-time.

It’s been just over a week now and the “Freedom” is just starting to hit me, and yes, it’s awesome. We’re still trying to figure out how to get Kel to Atlanta because her parents (our only overnight care choice) are unavailable. I tried to coerce Alcorn to cover since he claims he may not make it, but he wasn’t biting. This year when you go on your card binge, please let me know so I can join you. See you there if not before.

Inform the sell that you’re an investor??? - Posted by HT

Posted by HT on November 21, 2000 at 09:20:59:

When calling on properties, should you identify yourself as an investor? If so, at what point during the call should this occur? Should you be straightforward, such as, “Hi, my name is…I invest in real estate and was interested in the property you had listed.”

I ask this, because with the proliferation of books and seminars on investing, most advising calling on the FSBO’s listed in the papers, many FSBO’s are receiving 10-20 calls by investors offering “lowball” offers as soon as the paper is delivered.

This may create a foul stigma in the mind of the seller for investors calling on the propery, even if they have numerous creative methods to propose outside of the lowball offer.

Thank you in advance for your feedback

Re: Inform the sell that you’re an investor??? - Posted by T Jent

Posted by T Jent on November 27, 2000 at 24:36:20: