Inspections of wiring and/or plumbing additions - Posted by Scott (ATL)

Posted by Steve-Atl on May 04, 2000 at 17:46:21:

Scott:

It depends on the jurisdiction having authority. If its the city of Atlanta, its different than the city of Decatur. The only way to know is to ask the building inspections department of the appropriate jurisdiction.

I am an architect and have found the varying requirements maddening. I found its a good idea before the project begins to go visit the inspectors and ask them whats required. Don’t mention a specific project, but ask hypothetical questions. It may change what you will want to do with the renovation.

Regarding the insurance question, I don’t know. Sorry

Steve

Inspections of wiring and/or plumbing additions - Posted by Scott (ATL)

Posted by Scott (ATL) on May 04, 2000 at 17:13:12:

I’m a little unclear as to the requirements for inspections or rehab work. If we add new electrical outlets or plumbing (new bathroom) to an existing structure does the work have to get “inspected” by the county/city/state? I’ve heard that only new additions to the electrical panel or new wiring in an “addition” requires an inspection.

From a different angle, lets say I buy a house where a previous owner did some new wiring and plumbing and they didn’t get it inspected. If the house burns while under my ownership and the insurance company determines that faulty wiring caused the fire and it happens to be in a part of the house that the previous owner “modified”. Could my insurance company tell me “tough luck” the work here wasn’t inspected and it was incorrect so we’re not paying.

And from one more angle…If the insurance company denied me could I try to recoup the cost from the previous owner?

I realize each state might have different laws but what is the general rule of thumb for these hypothetical issues?

Thanks!
Scott
Old Atlanta Renovators
770-234-5795

Re: Inspections of wiring and/or plumbing additions - Posted by Bud Branstetter