Insurance - who do the slum lords use? - Posted by Tracey

Posted by Andy on December 01, 2005 at 15:33:09:

Tracey, what state are you in?? As an insurance agent myself, I must advise against anything but full disclosure!! Failing to mention certain things, could result in a claim or coverage being denied.

If your agent only has one company (American Family) to work with, that could be the problem.

Here are a couple of companies that will insure just about anything and do it reasonably. Keep in mind that some if not all of these carriers may not be available in your state or area.

American Modern, National Security, Foremost, Auto Owners.

Don’t be shy…ask the other landlord who he uses. It could be a situation where he and his agent are providing a great deal of info about the properties to the prospective company and he’s getting a good rate; I would encourage you to do the same! Or it’s possible his agent is appointed w/ a small carrier that specializes in low-value dwellings.

Insurance - who do the slum lords use? - Posted by Tracey

Posted by Tracey on December 01, 2005 at 15:13:52: