Is anybody doing this? - Posted by Fletch

Posted by DavePA on March 04, 2002 at 18:27:29:

Why don’t you ask the owner if they will finance the property 100%?
Tell them that you will give them a better return for their money than a bank cd would.
I still wouldn’t pay FMV.

Good Luck, dave

Is anybody doing this? - Posted by Fletch

Posted by Fletch on March 04, 2002 at 17:23:16:

I own a nice little 3 bd/2 ba cape cod in a nice little neighborhood. There is another one just like it FSBO down the street from me.
The owner said that they wanted 125k which is probably full market value. She said that she thought about renting it out, but she didn’t know anything about landlording.
I see a potential for cash flow if I can get the owner to lease the property to me at below market rental rates then sublease it to someone else and keep the difference. I think maybe this is similar to what happens in a lease/ option(which I have very little knowledge about)minus the option.
I guess the trick is getting enough margin to make the property management worth the effort, and convincing the owner to lease the property to me with provisions for sub-leasing.
If anybody has any ideas or recommended reading please let me know.

thanks,
Fletch

Re: Is anybody doing this? - Posted by Brent_IL

Posted by Brent_IL on March 06, 2002 at 06:02:41:

One successful leasing approach to a hands-off landlord is to offer to pay the monthly rent in advance for a slight discount. You can offer to take care of routine maintenance expenditures up to $100 per month to ease their management anxiety.

Try to use a number at the low part of the rental range. It’s more palatable for the owner to discount annual payments with a right to renew for several years than for them to accept the hit on a multi-year long term lease.