Is this a good deal or is the "Banker" Tenant taking advantage? - Posted by Jogre

Posted by Glenn OH on January 18, 2000 at 09:26:04:

nt

Is this a good deal or is the “Banker” Tenant taking advantage? - Posted by Jogre

Posted by Jogre on January 17, 2000 at 17:27:08:

I am very new at buying and selling homes and would like advice on how to handle my sister’s “out of state” home situation.

Current Situation:
My sister has a home in another state which is currently being leased to a “banker” for $2,000 per month. Lease ends 4/29. First of all he is late with his rent money and has installed a fence without written permission for $1,700 with the assumption that she had agreed to this in lieu of a $2,000 security deposite originally requested.

Today, he faxed a letter which he calls an offer, offering $245,000 (FSBO) for the house with the intent to close on June 1. Recent homes in this area have sold bewteen $265k and $269k broker assisted. This price is based on his research of recently sold homes of like size and quality less his investment of $1,700 for the fence. His letter also requests the following: termite inspection, clear title, property inspected by certified building inspector and that all mechancical and appliances are in working order. He include this following: “This includes but is not limited to the following: security system, dishwasher, microwave, hot water heater, sprinkler, oven, HVAC system, plumbing electrical and others perhaps not specifically listed”. This quote concerns me.

The offer is good for 7 days.
The house was purchased for $259,000, PITI approx $2100 per month, loan balance approx $225,000.

How can she get more than the asking price? or Should she continue to rent the home?

I may not be very clear so please respond with questions if necessary.

Thank you very much for the help.

Jogre

Re: Is this a good deal or is the “Banker” Tenant taking advantage? - Posted by chris

Posted by chris on January 18, 2000 at 08:33:29: