Is this deal worthwhile?? - Posted by Brian

Posted by JoeKaiser on July 12, 2002 at 20:59:42:

Just between you and me . . . if I can get $250 a month on a $10k investment, I’d do it every day. That’s not the problem here.

“Appraised value” is a meaningless term and one you should completely ignore. “Value” is what someone will pay you for the thing, and at the moment, even $109k looks to be too much.

I could probably get that same duplex appraised at $145k, and even still, it’s not going to worth $109k.

Every once in awhile you’ll come across a deal you know is a deal. This isn’t it.

Joe

Is this deal worthwhile?? - Posted by Brian

Posted by Brian on July 12, 2002 at 17:13:37:

I’m a REI newbie and have run across a situation that I could use some help analyzing.

It is a duplex appraised at 120K for sale for 109K. Rents will bring in $1350 a month, total payments are roughly $1100 with 10K down. Area outside of Orlando with a good rental history and well taken care of.

I don’t have the 10K now, but is it worth pursuing?

Any ideas on acquiring the 10K?

I’d sure appreciate some information from all the wisdom out there.

Thanks
BR

Re: Is this deal worthwhile?? - Posted by Ronald * Starr(in No CA)

Posted by Ronald * Starr(in No CA) on July 13, 2002 at 18:22:18:

Brian R----------------

You give way too little solid information to say “yes” or “no.”

Ignore appraisal figures given you by the owner. You should know the real estate market where you are considering buying so well that you can state “the property is worth X to X+ $20K.” You do this by getting out and looking at one hundred properties for sale and then following up to find out for what they sold, says Bill Green in his “Think Like a Tycoon.”

You say "total payments are roughly $1100 " this is way too vague to be helpful. Is this just the mortgage payment? Is this PITI? Is this including mainenance? Does it include a vacancy factor? How about a capital replacement fund–is that figured in here?