Is this the correct way to proceed? - Posted by Kris

Posted by Natalie-VA on July 01, 2007 at 12:32:33:

Show them proof. Give them examples of listings that took too long to sell because the sellers started too high and had to reduce. Show them other examples where listings that were priced correctly sold faster.

–Natalie

Is this the correct way to proceed? - Posted by Kris

Posted by Kris on June 25, 2007 at 09:01:25:

I would like to buy a home worth 225000 for 200000.I will be able to give the seller $30000 cash. I expect to pay a buyer’s real estate agent a total of $6750 to sell it. The homeowner purchased it for $210000 and has a mortgage of approximately 147000. Should I ask the lender if they will allow me to assume the loan at an agreed upon rate for the balance of the loan and agree to pay the seller 23000 at closing (when I re-sell immediately). I am a real estate listing agent and I think this should sell with a month or two. Does this plan seem to be the the best way to proceed?

No - Posted by Don (VA)

Posted by Don (VA) on June 25, 2007 at 10:01:23:

If I’m following your scenario correctly, there’s no deal here. You say you’d like to buy a home worth $225,000 for $200,000. OK, you’re buying it for $25,000 under market. Not enough for any real investor, but…

You expect it to sell within a month or two. If the home is worth $225,000, unless you’re in a hot market (not too many of those around today), you’d probably want to price it at $210,000 (roughly) to move it quickly…maybe less. But you’ve bought it for $200,000. There goes all your profit. Plus your holding costs for “a month or two” will be $2,500-$5,000, roughly. And what about your marketing costs to sell it? And any fix-up or repairs?