Kollege, Kiyosaki and karp (long.ugh.) - Posted by karp

Posted by Laure on March 15, 1999 at 21:08:59:

Carol, You’re such a stitch ! Still laughing at that one… I like the “bars”…

Laure :slight_smile:

Kollege, Kiyosaki and karp (long.ugh.) - Posted by karp

Posted by karp on March 15, 1999 at 02:37:47:

You know,

A lot has been said here lately about college.
It is good.
It is bad.
It is irrelevant, etc.

I have been investing for 7 years now and while I kind of always knew college wasn’t important compared to MANY other factors in determining your success, it didn’t sink home until today.

I was at the park flying a kite with my wife and kids and I was having a flashback to the campus “grassy park area” in front of the Library at Florida State University. I used to hang out there alot while at school.

My wife and I got to talking and she mentioned casually that my son would probably get scholarshipped in something! Either for her family’s athletic genes or my side’s brains(!?!)

I laughed and said “It doesn’t matter- he’s gonna do whatever he wants to do. If he wants to go to college he’ll find a way to pay for it.”

Now this wasn’t me being a jerk. It wasn’t me being a tough love dad or anything like that either. And it wasn’t me being naive or stupidly optomistic. It was more of an unconsious thought than anything.

Because IN MY MIND, I had already seen a child who had been born and raised in an environment that ONLY played in the RIGHT half of the quadrant.(Read Kiyosaki if you dont get this) THAT is where we belong. THAT is our birthright.

See, my mind had shifted so profoundly that I saw that the things I wanted to teach my son were quite simple and had little to do with formalized education:

love learning and never stop
stay entrepreneurial and be self reliant
find your ethics and decide them BEFORE you get tempted
practice healthy rebellion
laugh and make yourself and others happy
live boldly