L/O mostly for tax purposes..(long, painful) - Posted by Ben (NJ)

Posted by Ben (NJ) on February 12, 2002 at 09:18:38:

Although I would love to meet everyone, the tax foreclosure niche is so specialized that most of the topics would not really be beneficial to me. If they ever have it in New York, I would definitely stop by for a few drinks. Thanks for asking.

L/O mostly for tax purposes…(long, painful) - Posted by Ben (NJ)

Posted by Ben (NJ) on February 09, 2002 at 14:54:24:

I have never done an l/o before but am considering it for the following scenario. Rather than immediately selling a property acquired through tax foreclosure and incurring a large short-term capital gain, I am considering granting a lease to a tenant with a one-year option to buy. I will then sell it next year and incur long-term capital gains treatment. Should this be structured any differently than a normal l/o? I particularly don’t want it to be challenged as a constructive sale. I know already from this board to keep the lease and option contracts completely separate and distinct. One other caveat, the former owner will have to be evicted. Can I do a lease/option with someone prior to the occupant’s eviction or will the IRS laugh at this? I
just wrapped up a 1031 and would have done another one but my accountant thinks if I do two 1031’s in 2002, I am just
inviting IRS scrutiny. Dam, this stuff can get complicated. My plan was to just sell it quick and not have to deal with evictions, vandalism, taxes and property insurance but if I do that, then I have to suck it up and pay short-term capital gains taxes. Help!

Good point…some other thoughts… - Posted by Ben (NJ)

Posted by Ben (NJ) on February 10, 2002 at 15:04:07: