Land Trust Question - Posted by Aurelia

Posted by Craig-SoMD on August 27, 2003 at 21:24:04:

Check out that great new article by Bronchick in the How-To Articles section. It says that DOSC is not triggered in transfers like this.

Land Trust Question - Posted by Aurelia

Posted by Aurelia on August 26, 2003 at 12:12:26:

Disclaimer: I am a newbie, and just starting to get into the real estate investing arena, but am being asked lots of questions by friends. After explaining that I am not an expert, I do try to give whatever information I may have.

The latest is as follows. Friend is in process of getting a divorce. House is in husband’s name (only), but he says she can keep it, so long as she makes payments. Wife doesn’t want to refinance because of prior credit problems.

Home is located in the state of Nevada.

My suggestion to her (subject, of course, to review by a lawyer in her state):

1. Set up a land trust (wife is beneficiary, friend is trustee)

2. Husband sends letter to lender advising of placement of property into land trust for ‘estate planning purposes’

(3,4 and 5 all happen at same time)

1. Property is deeded to trust

2. Husband signs letter acknowleging loan is still in his name but he no longer owns house

3. If necessary, enter into a separate agreement under which wife agrees to pay house payments on time, pay property taxes, etc. (& address any other concerns)

4. Record transfer with county

From my studying so far, this addresses several issues for the couple – transfer of ‘beneficial interest’ to wife without trigger of due on sale clause (since lender is advised of transfer and wife can file transfer doc with county).

Wife doesn’t have to get new financing. Husband can walk away, but will have contract right against wife if she fails to make timely payments (but doesn’t have recourse against the house).

Question 1: Are there any issues I am missing?