Leap of faith (LONG) - Posted by Randy

Posted by DC (IL) on July 03, 2003 at 16:07:38:

I wanna be like you when I grow up! :slight_smile:

Leap of faith (LONG) - Posted by Randy

Posted by Randy on July 01, 2003 at 10:40:28:

Well this may not sound like a problem to some and may be I just need the encouragement to get started? But I have always bought into one of the biggest misconceptions ever. Go to school get a good job and live happily ever after. Now I also have heard one of the biggest lies in recent history “job security”.
I feel that I’m ready to make a change in my life and would like some opinions from people who are actually living the life that I want. I have been visiting this site for 2 years and learning everything I can. I have read both of Lonnie’s books and feel this is what I want to do to get started in real estate investing. I’ve had the light bulb suddenly click on. I bought a house 5 years ago and it was a real fixer upper. I have just now completed all of the work (bathroom,kitchen,carpet,paint,furnace,)…I bought the house for $60,000.00 and just had it reappraised for $115,000.00 my intention was to fix it up and continue on my career while having a nice house to live in. Now I’m facing a layoff and uncertainty in my career and would like to change my path. My initial plan is to sell my house to cash out the equity that I have built up and then begin my new career in mobile homes. Since I’m a single man with no family I think that I can make this leap of faith and have enough cash reserves.
Any input or opinions would be greatly appreciated…

Re: Leap of faith (LONG) - Posted by Ron_KS

Posted by Ron_KS on July 03, 2003 at 17:00:23:

Randy,

First, welcome to the world of wobble boxes!! Second, read and reread what Anne-ND said - she hit the nail on the head as did KenS(WV).