Lease/Option: Balance @ time of purchase? (Long) - Posted by PatrickMD

Posted by Dan_nc on December 27, 2000 at 17:30:30:

BJ, I’m no expert either but LeGrands take on that is you may be above FMV today but you’re not closing today. The sale will take place 12, 24 or more months in the future and, assuming you are in an area enjoying average RE appreciation, your price should not be that far out of line. You may even be BELOW FMV at that time. The other line of thinking is that many appraisers, with a sales contract in hand for say $185k, will miraculously come up with an appraised price at or very near that figure. I’ve seen it happen.
Hope this helps, Dan

Lease/Option: Balance @ time of purchase? (Long) - Posted by PatrickMD

Posted by PatrickMD on December 26, 2000 at 23:11:44:

Hi, everyone here at www.creonline. Merry Christmas, Happy Chanukka, and Happy New Year!

I tried to set this up by the book (Sheets’ & LeGrand’s), so please tell me what you think.
I prequalified a seller of the following: Recently built owner-occupied 2 story 3br/2ba with master jacuzzi SFH; 2 car gar; deck; small, fenced corner lot; great neighborhood of similar houses in a small town.

Comps came back with, "estimate is above neighborhood average of $138K. (there are townhouses & duplexes within a mile.) Highest reasonable: $186K; Lowest reasonable: $159K. Three neighboring houses within .17 mi. sold for $149K, $159K,& $175K within 20 mos. of the present date.
The seller needs $5K. for an impact fee for new house. They’ll consider L/O, they just want to be free of the mortgage. The seller liked the idea of being able to get the bank to credit 75 percent of the lease price toward the new house’s mortgage amount.
They have an assumable 1st for $130K @ 7 percent;
a non assumable 2nd for $39K @ 12 percent; totalling $169K.
The monthly payment equals $1,588 ($1,135 plus $453) per month. They have an appraisal for $175K, are asking $174K.