Lease Options in Texas - Posted by Dave

Posted by WAREIA on June 17, 2007 at 18:26:28:

Executory Contracts, specifically Lease Options, as of Sept 1, 2007 are illegal in Texas. There are many posts on this on CRE that you can look up the actual law. I’m not an expert on “Executory Contracts” but what I do know is if you are granting an option or a seller assisted contract to buy then you must put the tenant on title and that is not a good thing.

Lease Options in Texas - Posted by Dave

Posted by Dave on December 23, 2005 at 16:22:30:

I live in Fort Worth. I have the opportunity to buy a home on Lease Option and turn around and sell a property on Lease option. I have tried to call a lawyer that I know but he is out for the Holiday. I am not seeking legal advice here I just want to know how some of you are doing it?

I was thinking about the Land Trust. Instead of lease optioning the home I could Lease Option the Benificial interest and do the same thing on the sell side.

Please post comments:

Re: Lease Options in Texas - Posted by David Alexander

Posted by David Alexander on December 26, 2005 at 01:56:38:

LO’s are about dead in Texas…

The laws are being written against them…

Not to mention… that in Texas when you don’t own the property as a personal residence… the taxes are much higher than normal… making it a difficult place to buy and hold anything not bought at 40 - 50 cents on the dollar with very minimal repairs…

I’ll actually be doing a teleseminar in the coming weeks are so on how to deal with that…

David Alexander

Re: Lease Options in Texas - Posted by Joe Kaiser

Posted by Joe Kaiser on December 24, 2005 at 24:08:21:

www.TooManyHoops.com

Re: Lease Options in Texas - Posted by WAREIA

Posted by WAREIA on December 27, 2005 at 11:14:23:

Lease Options and Purchases are NOT DEAD in Texas.

They are very much alive and well, you just have to know how do them in order not to create what Texas is calling an Executory Contract.