Lease Options - ? - Posted by Gary

Posted by GregNY on January 23, 2002 at 17:30:34:

I’m no pro but ANYONE can turn there credit around in 12 months!

No one can turn their credit around just by
making timely payments for a year on their lease.
The idea is for them to make timely payments on
ALL their bills. You are giving them a reason to
clear up that credit. REASONS BEING:

1.That higher than normal rent would most likely
get a lowered if they get their mess together and
execise that option.

2.The Option Consideration; wouldn’t you try to get
your finances together if you risked losing this?

3.This should be the back end profits but hey, to each his own.

Good Luck,

GregNY

Lease Options - ? - Posted by Gary

Posted by Gary on January 23, 2002 at 16:59:35:

A question for the pro’s on this board.

I’ve been under the impression that investors want to do lease options for three main reasons…

1. To command a monthly payment higher than what one can expect for rents.

2. To put a chunk of money in your pocket (consideration)

3. To put the party leasing the home in a position where they feel it’s in their best interest to purchase it down the road.

I’ve also been under the assumption that the party who leases the home is most likely one who has a few glitches on their credit and perhaps can’t qualify for a loan. By leasing the home and making regular and timely payments they have a chance to ‘clean up’ their credit a bit and be able to qualify for a loan after a year or so.

Today I discussed this with a mortgage broker and he stated that a party with dinged up credit will not improve their credit score any by making timely payments for a year on their lease. He said you as the landlord could ‘help’ a case that has borderline credit by writing a letter stating the party has been making timely payments, but it would only help a slight bit, but most likely wouldn’t be enough to help someone with moderate to bad credit.