Yes you do the repair. However, give them a
set of limit as to how much you are willing to
do the maintenance. For example, tell them that
you are willing to do the maintenance only up
to, say $50 dollar. Also, make sure you walk them
through and give them time to inspect the house
and make sure that everything is functioning and
doesn’t need any repair. Have their acknowledgement
in writing and sign so that you don’t have to waste time arguing over who is responsible for what.

I hope this helps a little…

Lease options - Posted by Rob-IN

Posted by Rob-IN on January 25, 2002 at 07:30:20:

Excuse my ignorance, but I am new to L/O.

I am considering L/O a property I own rather than renting it. I have read a lot of postings on this subject in the archieve, but had another question:
With a lease option, who is responsible for the maintenance costs and repairs?
I assume it would be me until the leasee excerise the option to buy, but I want to make sure.

Thanks,
Rob

Re: Lease options - Posted by Rob-IN

Posted by Rob-IN on February 07, 2002 at 21:09:51:

Thanks to everyone below for the help and responses.

Rob

Re: Lease options - Posted by Scott

Posted by Scott on February 07, 2002 at 17:21:57:

Hi Rob I am a Real Estate Investor interested in purchasing more property I already own 3 Buildings would be interested in finding out more info on your property for L/O.

Re: Lease options - Posted by JohnBoy

Posted by JohnBoy on January 26, 2002 at 19:35:37:

Typically the tenant/buyer is responsible for all repairs and maintenance. However, should something major occur then they may not have the money to cover the costs of repair which means you would have to step in to cover it to protect your interest. Then you can set up a payment plan over the balance of the lease to pay you back.

But as with anything, it’s all negotiable.

PS