Legit or Not? that is the question... - Posted by Dave

Posted by Philly Dave on October 26, 1998 at 08:35:59:

Hello, Soapy and Dave:

I wouldn’t go so far as to say this asset is in reality a liability. Not yet, anyway. Dave, if you have a buyer lined up for this finished property, you’re in good shape. If you don’t, Soapy could be right; you can’t “bank” on the profit 'til the sale proceeds truly are “in the bank.”

You have more information than we do, so gauge your risk according to what you know. But try not to get too excited over the potential profit; better to wait for the fat lady to sing.

Good luck!

Legit or Not? that is the question… - Posted by Dave

Posted by Dave on October 24, 1998 at 11:50:58:

I’m a newbie to the RE game and I’m looking for some constructive responses on this particular investment opportunity…

I have the opportunity to do a flip with a friend and I’m wondering if it is legit or not…

Example.
Friend finds a Bank REO property purchases (contract assaignment) it for 25K… The property gets a 65K appraisal (100% legitamate). I get a mortgage for 70% of the appraised value ( approx) 50K. This difference covers closing, fixup and we make a profit… This sounds really good, but is it 100% legit…

Any experienced comments would be greatly appreciated…

Thanks

Re: Legit or Not? that is the question… - Posted by JPiper

Posted by JPiper on October 24, 1998 at 16:35:38:

I don?t think your post is clear as to exactly what you?re doing here?..and therefore I would diverge from the posters below.

There are some lenders who will loan based strictly on asset value. These are call hard money lenders. You might get 65%-70% of the fixed-up value. They would probably operate the loan similar to a construction loan by releasing funds in stages as the rehab is completed. Costs of this loan will be high?points up to 10 points perhaps, perhaps up to 15% interest. The loan will be short term in nature.