Limited Partnership - Posted by LP investor

Posted by Rafiq on March 13, 2002 at 10:53:45:

Try this one first: Ehomeloanconnection.com

I think you will find everything you need there.

Have fun.

Limited Partnership - Posted by LP investor

Posted by LP investor on March 12, 2002 at 12:36:28:

I have formed an LP to purchase, rehab and lease foreclosed properties in which I am the managing GP. My partner’s role is to lend the partnership short-term money for aquisition/rehab and personally sign for cash-out and/or purchase mortgages because he has the non-real estate income to support multiple loans. The plan is for the partnership to return this money plus interest with a cash-out or purchase mortgage immediatly after the property has been rehabed and and before profit distribution. We plan to buy 2-10 houses per month at the foreclosure auction with the long-term goal of having a portfolio of positive cash flow properties that are paying for themselves.

I am just beginning to explore our mortgage options for one recently rehabbed and rented house and have learned that mortgage lenders (excluding banks) will not lend to an LP - only to an individual. This obviously creates legal, liability and multiple partner ownership interest problems. One mortgage broker suggested that when we buy the house in cash at auction, instead of putting the property in the name of the LP, put it in the name of my lending partner and then after the permenant has closed, deed the property to the LP.

I am concerned with this for two reasons:

1. the property is in the name of my partner and my interest is not protected for that time period
  2. the mortgage could possibly call the loan if they learned that the ownership has changed