Info on FL Mobile Home Dealer Requirement - Posted by Tom Brown
Posted by Tom Brown on January 19, 1999 at 08:31:35:
Highway Safety & Motor Vehicles
Licensing Requirements for Mobile Home Dealers
In Florida, mobile home dealers are licensed and regulated by the Division of Motor Vehicles under Section 320.77 Florida Statutes.
Florida law states that any person, firm partnership or corporation that buys, sells, offers for sale, displays for sale or deals in one or more mobile homes in any 12-month period is presumed to be a mobile home dealer and must have an appropriate license issued by the State.
There are two classes of licenses issued to mobile homes dealers. They are:
Mobile Home Dealer–for a person dealing in new or used mobile homes. This license permits the licensee to transact business at retail or wholesale.
Mobile Home Broker–allows the licensee to sell used mobile homes only. This license permits the licensee to transact business at retail of wholesale.
Before going into the business of selling mobile homes, a person must submit a completed application, with required documentation and fees. License applications may be obtained from any Division of Motor Vehicle regional office.
Approval of business location by a DMV representative.
Completed application form.
Fee of $300 for each main location.
Annual fee of $40 required for the Mobile Home and Recreational Vehicle Trust Fund.
$25,000 surety bond.
Copy of lease for location or proof of ownership.
Dealer training seminar certificate.
Registration of fictitious trade name.
Copy of corporate papers.
Sales tax number.
Federal employer identification number.
Fingerprints and applicable fees. ($39 per person).
Failure to Obtain A License
Any person violating these licensing requirements is guilty of a second-degree misdemeanor, punishable by up to six months in jail and/or fine of $500. Such person will also be liable under civil law for violation of Florida?s Deceptive and Unfair Trade Practices Act, subject to fines of up to $5000 per violation, and may face a permanent injunction issued by a circuit court.
If you have questions about application procedures and licensing requirements, contact the DMV regional office.