Looking at a SFR tomorrow - Posted by Shenesa

Posted by Shenesa on April 19, 2000 at 14:26:35:

Thanks for the advice Phil!

To answer your questions: It is a FSBO and was listed with a realtor two years ago. I would be more than willing to put a $500 deposit down, but I am just starting out and I only can afford $50. I have read that some investors have only offered $10 as a deposit. If they don’t request a deposit, I will not bring it up and if they do, I will offer the $50.

Again,Thanks

Looking at a SFR tomorrow - Posted by Shenesa

Posted by Shenesa on April 19, 2000 at 13:55:59:

I called on a SFR in my neighborhood and found out that the owners are elderly, moved out two years ago, don’t want to landlord, was on market 2 yrs ago for 35k,3brs, 1ba, eat in kitchen, dining room, garage, small yard, taxes are 900 yr, own free and clear, new roof, rented, tenants pay own heat, rents for $400 a month asking $15k. What advice can you give me on this. I plan on taking a contract with me and $50 ernest money. I will put in a few weasel clauses to protect myself.(Any advice on weasel clauses will be appreciated). I did drive by the house and it is in good external shape. The comps I did get from a realtor today for that area and style of house and they were $40-$50k.

Thanks for your help!

Re: Looking at a SFR tomorrow - Posted by Steve C., Houstonq

Posted by Steve C., Houstonq on April 20, 2000 at 11:10:22:

Looks like a sweet deal! Without knowing the seller’s temperature, I tend to agree that money talks. Upping the earnest money to $100 or $150 should help. If you don’t have the cash, perhaps you have the credit (card). Carlton Sheets to the rescue. Or just borrow it from someone.

Best of luck!

Re: Looking at a SFR tomorrow - Posted by Stacy (AZ)

Posted by Stacy (AZ) on April 20, 2000 at 01:39:30:

Hi Shenesa-