Looking for more input - Posted by David C. Cooper

Posted by Matthew on July 27, 2007 at 08:35:41:

David-
I can only offer that being able to callout a number / price on a home is one of experience.I have been doing it for a few years(10+).You can get better by making bids,getting to know the market of interest and who operates in it is also a key to getting the numbers to work.

Looking for more input - Posted by David C. Cooper

Posted by David C. Cooper on July 26, 2007 at 15:11:18:

I wanted to get some more input on a deal I posted about a week ago and a few others I’m looking at. I’m hoping one of these can be my first deal.

I used ARV (after repair value) x 70% - repair costs to figure my maximum purchase price. It turns out the numbers are so big it looks like I could even raise my max. price and still have tons of room for profit.

Being new, I plan to focus on wholesaling until I have enough capital behind me to make some mistakes with other strategies that will build cash flow and equity for the long term. Because of this, my exit strategies are to wholesale to a rehabber or walk away.

DEAL 1

The first deal I originally posted here:

http://www.creonline.com/wwwboard/messages/49639.html

REO
ARV $1M (million)
4bd 3ba
Pool/Spa
High end So. CA Suburb
Repairs: $120K (thousand)
Days listed: 30+

The bank took property for $788K is asking $812K.

I plan to ask the agent to present an offer of $550K.

DEAL 2

MLS listing
ARV $750K
4bd 3ba 2500sq ft.
Almost completely upgraded.
Repairs: $15k
Days listed: 90+

Seller is asking $830K

I will offer $525K

DEAL 3

FSBO
ARV $450K
3bd 2ba
Repairs: $34K
Days listed: 40+

Seller wants to sell so she can buy another listing and is trying to avoid MLS to save commissions and doesn’t want to finish upgrading the property.

I plan to offer $282K.

DEAL 4

MLS Stink House (cat smell)
ARV $650K
4bd 2ba
Great landscaping and view.
Repairs: $50K
Days listed: 60+